NLTTA Dinner & Prize Presentation

NLTTA Awards Lunch – 5 November 2017

Thanks you to the 35+ who have booked their tickets for the NLTTA Awards Lunch at The Crofters, Garstang.

The Lunch starts at 1pm, with guests arriving from 12’ish. Tickets are £20 which includes a fantastic 3 course meal. Our Guests of Honour are Jill and Andy Wilkinson.

To book your ticket, or send in your question for the Q&A with Jill and Andy, please contact Jamie Carson on or 07946 440913

It would be great to get all award winners there … the pics above show all riders who have a trophy, medal or a cheque waiting for them!

NLTTA Hill Climb Championship 

Congratulations to David Huck, Barrow Central Whs, and Charlotte Gorman, Team Lusso, our 2017 NLTTA Hill Climb Champions … with both successfully defending their titles.

David was joined on the podium by Paul Roby, Lancashire RC, and third placed Ben Dobson, Team ASL-Bolton.

Charlotte was followed by Team Lusso club mate Lisa Dickinson and Debbie Moss, Chorley CC, in third spot.

The junior title was won by James Noonan, THR RT, and the juvenile win went to Francis Woodcock, Bury Clarion.

The full results are available here 👉

Thanks to Lancashire RC for hosting a great event 👏

Bideau breaks old school pal’s course record…

With a great field assembled at the NLTTA 100, the stage was set for a record breaking tussle and cyclists did not disappoint. Richard Bideau, Pendle Forrest, taking the men’s race in a new course record of 3:29:40 and Steph Mottram, NCC Group-Kuota-Torelli, taking the women’s race in a new course record of 4:07:40.  
Steve Irwin’s 2016 record of 3:33:32 was broken twice. First by David Allonby, Springfield Financial RT, in a sterling performance of 3:31:18, but he had to settle for 2nd place, behind Richard Bideau’s record-breaking performance of 3:29:40. It was a difficult day for Steve Irwin, who never really got going, he finished 3rd in 3:40:11.

In the women’s race, Steph Mottram, NCC group – Kuota – Torelli, in her first 100, produced a stella performance, breaking Lyn Hamel’s 2007 record by over 11 minutes, and setting a new course record of 4:07:40. 2nd place went to Rachel Batt, Buxton CC, in 4:32:44 and 3rd place went to Carol Westmorland, Border City Wheelers CC, who was also 1st NLTTA lady, in 4:37:59.

The Lantern Rouge was well contested, going to Trevor Halstead, Gainsborough Aegir CC, in a time of 5:43:28, beating Harry Cowley, Chester RC, who finished in a time of 5:40:40. Harry said: “I’m gutted, I can’t believe someone else went slower than me!”  

The team event went to Sprinfield Financial RT with David Allonby 3:31:18, Tom Rigby 3:44:26 and Matt Stell 3:56:08.

Remarkably, despite gusting winds, a good number of personal bests were achieved on the day, the top 12 men all broke 4 hours, and a record number of first timers recorded good performances. David Hargreaves, North Lancs. RC, at the age of 71, completed the course in 4:12:11.

There were a number of DNFs, notably Gavin Hinxman, Drag2Zero, riding his TRIKE and hoping to break the competition record. At the half way stage he had clocked 1:54:00 and was on target for the course record, but then he punctured.  

This was a great event, sponsored by Truline Construction and Hewitts Bike Shop and was well managed by first time organiser, Nigel Clementson.


From Claire and Nigel:Congratulations to Richard Bideau, David Allonby, Steph Mottram on breaking the 100TT course records today!!!

Hard luck to Gavin Hinxman’s attempt in breaking the trike 100TT record today. He sadly punctured.

Thankfully the weather held up, although on a better day the course record could be even quicker.

A massive Thankyou to everybody who made today possible. Without everybody’s contribution there wouldn’t be an event.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Happy cycling 


Ps: I believe Ellen Isherwood was our course photographer. I look forward to seeing your great photos. Many thanks Ellen.

Nigel Clementson Race organiser

Claire Clementson Co-Pilot with diesel engine ;))

Richard Taylor (Timekeeper)

Jamie Carson (Marshall)

Dave Bisset (Marshall)

Tony (I hope I’ve got the name right) (Marshall)

Angus (Marshall) 

Amanda Ashbury (Marshall)

Tracy & Brian Moore (Marshalls)

Neil & Pat (Marshalls)

John Woods (Marshall)

Phil Bradshaw pusher offer/drinks table/kitchen helper/ all round dogs body

Veronica Swift Kitchen staff AKA Mother in law (outlaw!)

NLTTA 12 Hour Championship

Congratulations to Andy Whiteside, Bella In Sella, our 2017 12 Hour Champion with a very impressive 266.36 miles in his debut 12.

Bella In Sella teammate, Daniel Eden, took the second step on the podium with 255.62 miles. Third place went to Nigel Clementson, Wigan Whs, with 246.54 miles.

Well done to all riders 👏
PS The NLTTA Awards Lunch takes place on Sunday, 5 November.

NLTTA 50 Records Broken

NLTTA 50 records broken! 

Congratulations to Charlotte Gorman, Team Lusso, and Steve Irwin, North Lancs RC on setting new NLTTA records today in the VTTA North Lancs and Lakes event on the L505.

Charlotte flew around in 2-03-27 to take 3 minutes and 17 seconds off Lyn Hamel’s previous record which has stood for 10 years.

Steve’s impressive 1-42-57 took 1 minute and 3 seconds off Derek Parkinson’s record which was set back in 2011.

Well done to all riders, especially those who recorded PBs and club records 👏

NLTTA 100 on Bank Holiday Monday 28th August

A great opportunity to record a fast 100 time. The course is the L10010 – using the A66 between Cockermouth and Keswick. A fantastic road surface with most of the course having been relaid over the past 18 months. 10 miles of the course will also be used for the National 10 mile Championships shortly. Will anybody go faster than Steve Irwin’s impressive course record of 3:33:32?

Nigel Clementson (NLTTA and Wigan Whs) is the event organiser. If your interested, or need more details, you can contact Nigel on or 07862 289430.

There will be an excellent prize list – thanks to sponsorship from Truline and Paul Hewitt Cycles.

The closing date for entries is Tuesday, 15 August. You can enter on line at

Nigel is looking for marshals to help on the day. If you can help please contact Nigel.

Many thanks – we hope to see you on the 28th August 👍



NLTTA Championship 25

Congratulations to Tom Rigby, Springfield Financial RT, and Debbie Moss, Chorley CC, our 2017 NLTTA 25 champions. This makes a hat trick for Tom with the 10 and 100 already in the bag and a double for Debbie with the 100 won a few weeks ago.

Tom set a new course record in the process with a speedy 52:36 on a testing course. Steve Irwin also beat the previous record to take second in 53:36. Richard Bickley, from the promoting club Border City Whs, took third place in 55:05.

Debbie was a convincing winner in the ladies competition with 1:04:31. Second place Katie Lukas, Beacon Whs, finished in 1:6:14 and the final podium spot was taken by Charlotte Gorman, Team Lusso, in 1:6:47.

The team champions are the Border City Whs trio of Richard Bickley, Patrick Pennefather (58:03) and Richard Anderson (59.34).

Well done to all riders and thanks to Carol Westmorland and the Border City Whs team for hosting the NLTTA championship 25.

NLTTA 100 Champions

Congratulations to our 2017 NLTTA 100 champions – Tom Rigby, Springfield Financial RT and Debbie Moss, Chorley CC.

Both were making their 100 debuts and recorded fantastic times of 3:52:57 and 4:37:01, respectively, in the Manchester&DTTA event on the J4/18.

Well done to all NLTTA riders 

Thanks to Ellen Isherwood for the pics 

%d bloggers like this: