Annual Lunch and Prizegiving, The Crofters, Garstang, Sunday 14 November 2021

Francis Woodcock winner of the George Nowland Memorial 100m TT

Nearly 40 guests attended our annual get together to celebrate our 2021 prize-winners. MC for the afternoon was our very own Chairman, Matt Stell.

Simon Bridge of Manchester Bicycle Club was our guest of honour presenting the trophies.

Those collecting trophies were Debbie Moss (Team Merlin), Patrick Hickey (Rossendale RC), David Parkin (Chorley CC), John Morgan ( RT), David Rundall (Chorley CC), David Thompson (Rock 2 Roll CC), Paul Fleming (Preston Wheelers), Richard Nesfield (Beacon Wheelers).

A special callout goes to Francis Woodcock of Team SB Hub who won our prestigious George Nowland “100” Memorial Trophy. Francis although working most of Sunday morning still managed to make the trip to Garstang to receive his trophy from Val Nowland. Francis hopes to be racing in Spain next year.

This enjoyable afternoon was rounded off with a lively Q&A session with our guest of honour Simon Bridge, who clearly showed that, as well as being the one of the foremost riders on both road and time trialling scene in the Manchester area, was very keen to put something back into our sport. Simon presented Val Nowland and her two daughters, Susan and Janet with bouquets. George had been closely connected to the Association for many years prior to his sad passing in 2018.

This account of the Association’s Annual Lunch and Prizegiving would not be complete without mentioning David Bisset and Debbie Moss without whose hard work the afternoon
would not have been the success that it was.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: